Verdict
Our Verdict on the M.S.
Concordia Chicago's online master's is a flexible, certification-minded degree with five concentrations, self-paced courses and tuition of $17,250 to $20,700. It fits coaches, trainers and career changers who want exam preparation and a science foundation. Its Exercise Physiology concentration advertises ACSM exam prep, but the program isn't on CAAHEP's list, and that matters after August 15, 2027.
Concordia University Chicago is a private Lutheran university in River Forest, Illinois. The Master of Science in Applied Exercise Science is delivered 100% online, asynchronous and self-paced, with 30 to 36 credits depending on your concentration. The school says it was designed in partnership with ACSM, NASM, ISSN and NSCA.
Every student takes an 18-credit core: kinesiology or biomechanics, research design, applied or advanced exercise physiology, exercise and sport nutrition, and a capstone. Then you add 12 to 18 credits in your concentration. Admission asks for an online application, transcripts, two letters of recommendation and an objective statement, and you can start in fall, spring or summer.
Score
How the Score Adds Up
Each factor is scored 0 to 10 against other online master's programs. The weights are the same for every program.
Online Program Score 62.4 / 100
Darker bars mean stronger factor scores. Every bar also shows its number.
The full rubric is on the methodology page. A factor marked Peer Median had no published input, so it counts at half weight.
Credentials
Accreditation and the Certification Rule Changes
The Higher Learning Commission accredits Concordia Chicago. The program has no CAAHEP accreditation, and CAAHEP's list from September 29, 2026 doesn't include it. After August 15, 2027, ACSM-EP and ACSM-CEP candidates must graduate from a CAAHEP-accredited program or one that has started the process. The Exercise Physiology concentration says it prepares you to sit for the ACSM exam, so ask what has been filed.
The Strength and Conditioning concentration is described as recognized by NSCA's Education Recognition Program. NSCA no longer publishes that list and now runs CASCE accreditation, where Concordia isn't listed. The CSCS change on January 1, 2030 looks at your bachelor's degree, not this master's.
NASM and ISSN credentials are separate exams you take yourself. The degree prepares you for them but doesn't confer them.
- Programmatic Accreditation
- NSCA Education Recognition Program
- Accreditation Notes
- NSCA Education Recognition Program (Strength and Conditioning concentration)
- Certification Preparation
- ACSM Certified Exercise Physiologist (EP); NSCA Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS); NASM Performance Enhancement Specialist; NASM Corrective Exercise Specialist; ISSN Certified Sports Nutritionist (CISSN)
- Certification Notes
- NSCA CSCS; NASM PES; NASM CES; ISSN CISSN; ACSM EP
Source: catalog.cuchicago.edu (accreditation and credentials), verified September 29, 2026
Where this degree can lead: Exercise Science Jobs, ACSM Exercise Physiologist Certification.
Fit
Who Should Apply, and Who Should Not
Who It Fits
- Strength coaches and trainers who want a credential map. Strength and Conditioning lines up with the NSCA CSCS, Sports Performance Training with NASM's Performance Enhancement Specialist, Human Movement Science with NASM's Corrective Exercise Specialist and Sports Nutrition with the ISSN's CISSN exam.
- Career changers without an exercise science degree. Exercise Physiology has two tracks. Track 1, at 18 credits, adds anatomy and physiology, biomechanics and a first strength and conditioning course for people who haven't met ACSM's course requirements. Track 2, at 12 credits, is for people who already hold an exercise science bachelor's.
- Anyone thinking about a doctorate. Up to 12 credits can move into Concordia's online PhD in exercise science if you earned a B or higher and start the PhD within three calendar years.
Who Should Skip It
- Anyone who needs a CAAHEP-accredited degree for the ACSM path. The Exercise Physiology concentration promises preparation for ACSM's exercise physiologist exam, but the program isn't on CAAHEP's list from September 29, 2026. See the online exercise physiology degrees that are.
- Students who want hospital-based clinical hours. The practicum courses in Human Movement Science, Sports Nutrition and Sports Performance Training are case studies on a member of your community. The Exercise Physiology concentration has no practicum course at all.
- Anyone who dislikes chained prerequisites. Most upper courses ask for a B or higher in the one before, so one weak grade can stall your schedule.
Curriculum
Six Concentrations and the Core Courses
AES-6020 Kinesiology I covers upper-extremity anatomy and AES-6030 Kinesiology II covers the trunk and lower body, both with movement analysis. AES-6050 Research Design and Methods in Exercise Science teaches statistics, research ethics and scientific writing. AES-6300 Exercise and Sport Nutrition digs into energy metabolism and supplements. You'll also take AES-6200 Applied Exercise Physiology or AES-6250 Advanced Exercise Physiology.
The concentrations feel different. Exercise Physiology Track 1 stacks AES-6700 Principles of Exercise Testing, Prescription and Health Risk Appraisal, AES-6770 for special populations such as cardiopulmonary and metabolic disease patients, and AES-6780 Patient Education and Behavioral Change Strategies. Human Movement Science and Sports Performance Training follow NASM models and include practicums. Strength and Conditioning adds two field experiences of 150 hours each.
The capstone, AES-6990, can be a publishable article, a professional field experience, a conference presentation or a program design. Strength and Conditioning students take AES-6830 instead. The program page lists five concentrations, while the 2026-27 catalog lists six, adding Professional Strength & Conditioning for people who already hold the CSCS.
Courses the School Names
- Applied Exercise Physiology
- Advanced Exercise Physiology
- Research Design and Methods in Exercise Science
- Exercise and Sport Nutrition
- Principles of Exercise Testing, Prescription and Health Risk Appraisal
- Exercise Testing and Prescription for Special Populations
- Patient Education and Behavioral Change Strategies
- Principles of Human Movement Science
- Program Design in Corrective Exercise Training
- Tactical Strength & Conditioning
Standout Features
- Designed in partnership with ACSM, NASM, ISSN and NSCA; concentrations map to certification exams
- Strength and Conditioning concentration recognized by the NSCA Education Recognition Program
- Dual-concentration options available
- Up to 12 credits can transfer toward CUC's PhD in Exercise Science
- Concentrations
- Exercise Physiology (Track 1 without an exercise science bachelor's; Track 2 with one), Human Movement Science, Sports Performance Training, Sports Nutrition, Strength and Conditioning, Professional Strength & Conditioning (catalog)
- Capstone
- AES-6990 Capstone Experience (or AES-6830 Application of Advanced Strength and Conditioning for S&C students)
- Internship or Practicum
- Practicum courses within Human Movement Science, Sports Nutrition and Sports Performance Training concentrations; Strength and Conditioning Field Experience I and II.
- Labs and Partnerships
- Named in the school's program materials
Source: exsci.cuchicago.edu (curriculum and experience), verified September 29, 2026
Cost
How Much It Costs at $575 a Credit
Tuition is $575 per credit hour plus an $18 per credit technology fee, and you buy your own textbooks. The school estimates tuition at $17,250 to $20,700, which is 30 to 36 credits. Add the technology fee and the range becomes $17,790 to $21,348.
The Strength and Conditioning concentration runs 33 credits, or $18,975 in tuition, and its field experiences carry a one-time $100 fee charged at the first registration. Exercise Physiology Track 1 is 36 credits and Track 2 is 30. Payment is due before each course starts.
- Cost per Credit
- $575 per credit
- Credits Required
- 30-36 depending on concentration credits
Source: exsci.cuchicago.edu (cost and aid), verified September 29, 2026
Online
How the Online Classes Work
Everything is online and asynchronous, with no set class times. You start in fall, spring or summer and set your own pace, so the number of courses you take per term decides how long the degree takes. The school quotes graduates who call the program challenging but doable for working adults, and it advertises small classes and faculty who work in clinical, athletic and research settings.
The S&C field experiences ask for 150 hours each, and the practicums ask you to work with a person in your community. Line that up early. Order matters more than speed here, because the prerequisite chain is strict.
- Class Format
- Asynchronous
- Terms
- Asynchronous self-paced; enter fall, spring or summer.
- Start Dates
- 3 starts a year
- Time to Finish
- Varies with courses per term; 4+1 track adds one year after CUC BS
- Campus Requirements
- None stated for the degree; some concentrations include practicum or field experience courses (modality of placement not stated).
Source: exsci.cuchicago.edu (format and schedule), verified September 29, 2026
Admissions
Admission Requirements
- Admission Requirements
- General graduate admission: online application, official transcripts, two letters of recommendation, objective statement. Exercise Physiology Track 1 for students without an exercise science bachelor's. GRE not stated.
Source: exsci.cuchicago.edu (admissions and transfer), verified September 29, 2026
Trade-Offs
Drawbacks to Weigh
- The ACSM path has an accreditation gap, so only the NASM, ISSN and NSCA exams have a clear route today.
- The pages disagree. The program page lists five concentrations, the catalog lists six, and the program page's credit range (30 to 36) hides that Strength and Conditioning is 33.
- Prerequisites chain most concentration courses at a B or higher, so a B minus could cost you a term.
- Completion time depends entirely on how many courses you take per term, which means cost and speed both need an advisor's plan.
- Concordia Chicago's federal graduation rate is 36 percent. That figure covers the whole university, not this master's.
Before You Apply
Questions to Ask Concordia University-Chicago Before You Apply
- Has the program started CAAHEP's formal inquiry or Request for Accreditation Services process, and can I get that in writing?
- Which Exercise Physiology track fits my bachelor's, and which courses from my transcript count?
- Is Professional Strength & Conditioning open now, and does it require the CSCS before admission?
- How do the S&C field experiences work online, where do the 150 hours happen, and can my current job count?
- How many courses can I take at once, and what happens if I earn a B minus in a prerequisite?
- What's the next start date, and what's the deadline for the fall, spring or summer sessions?
- What does the dual-concentration option add in credits and cost?
School
About Concordia University-Chicago
Private Christian university in River Forest, Illinois, just outside Chicago. Its College of Health, Science & Technology houses a Health Sciences & Human Performance division that runs an on-campus BA in Exercise Science plus fully online kinesiology, applied exercise science and exercise science PhD programs, with the online master's described as one of its most-enrolled.
- Degree
- M.S., Master's
- School
- Concordia University-Chicago, River Forest, IL
- Institution Type
- Private nonprofit
- Religious Affiliation
- Lutheran
- Institutional Accreditor
- HLC
- Delivery
- Fully Online
Source: exsci.cuchicago.edu (program and school), verified September 29, 2026
- Graduation Rate
- 36%
- Admit Rate
- 93%
- Total Enrollment
- 4,770
- Master's Completions a Year in This Field
- 202
- Campus Setting
- Suburban
Source: nces.ed.gov (school data from ipeds), verified September 29, 2026
Rankings
Rankings This Program Appears In
Rank is the program's position among the online programs on that list at its degree level.
- Best Online Exercise Science Degrees Rank 16 of 99, master's
- Best Online Master's Programs Rank 16 of 99, master's
- Best Online Exercise Physiology Degrees Rank 3 of 19, master's
- Best Online Strength and Conditioning Degrees Rank 10 of 39, master's
- Best for Working Adults Rank 10 of 50, master's
- Best for Career Changers Rank 7 of 24, master's
- Best for Personal Trainers Rank 9 of 32, master's
- Best for Coaches Rank 8 of 43, master's
- Best for Athletes Rank 3 of 15, master's
- Best Christian Programs Rank 4 of 27, master's
- Best Certification-Ready Programs Rank 8 of 13, master's
- Best 100% Online Programs Rank 12 of 78, master's
- Best Online Programs in Illinois Rank 2 of 3, master's
Same School
Other Online Programs at Concordia University-Chicago
-
B.S., Bachelor's
-
Exercise Science (PhD), online
Ph.D., Doctorate
Compare
Online Master's Programs With Similar Scores
Other online master's programs with the closest scores.
-
Online Master of Science (MS) in Exercise Science
-
Master of Science in Exercise Science - Strength and Conditioning (Accelerated, Traditional and 4+1 options)
-
Movement Sciences & Health, M.S. - Sports Performance and Coaching Specialization
-
State University of New York at Plattsburgh
Fitness and Wellness Leadership, M.S. (100% Online)
Frequently Asked Questions
How Much Does Concordia University Chicago's Online Applied Exercise Science Master's Cost?
Is Concordia Chicago's Applied Exercise Science Master's Fully Online?
Which Concentrations Does the Applied Exercise Science Master's Offer?
Can Concordia Chicago Master's Credits Count Toward Its PhD?
Sources
- Concordia University-Chicago's Applied Exercise Science (MS), online page
- Cost and credits
- Credit range
- Tuition estimate and fee
- Admission materials
- Designed with certifying bodies
- Delivery format
- School's cost estimate for 30 to 36 credits at $575 (30 x $575 = $17,250; 36 x $575 = $20,700). Computed with the technology fee: 30 x $18 = $540, so $17,790; 36 x $18 = $648, so $21,348; Strength and Conditioning is 18 core credits plus 15 concentration credits = 33 credits, 33 x $575 = $18,975
- Student experience wording
- Exercise Physiology concentration and ACSM exam preparation language
- NSCA Education Recognition Program wording for the Strength and Conditioning concentration
- Transfer of master's credits into the PhD
- Catalog lists six concentrations, one more than the program page
- Core is 18 credits and total is 30 to 36; capstone AES-6990 or AES-6830 for Strength and Conditioning
- AES-6360 practicum is a community case study
- S&C field experience hours and one-time fee
- Prerequisite chain in the Exercise Physiology track
- Capstone options
- Technology fee and textbooks
- Payment timing
- IPEDS Data Center
All sources retrieved .