Bachelor's Program Review

Lewis-Clark State College Online Kinesiology: Coaching (BA/BS)

B.A./B.S. program at Lewis-Clark State College in Lewiston, ID, fully online. It ranks 35 of 46 online bachelor's programs in our methodology.

Online Program Score

46.9

Ranks 35 of 46 at this level

Cost per Credit

$423

Online rate

Credits

120

Semester credits

Format

Fully Online

Verdict

Our Verdict on the B.A./B.S.

Lewis-Clark State's Kinesiology: Coaching degree is a sport coaching and sport administration bachelor's, not an exercise physiology degree. It fits you if you coach or want to run school and youth sports programs and you like public-college pricing. It's the wrong pick for clinical or certification-driven exercise science. Before you apply, confirm the online version is actually enrolling, because two of the college's own pages tell different stories.

Lewis-Clark State College is a public college in Lewiston, Idaho, founded in 1893 and serving about 4,046 students. Kinesiology sits in its Math and Science division, and Coaching is one of four emphases. The others are Exercise Science and Health Occupations, Health and Fitness, and Sport Studies. Coaching is the only one the college's degree finder lists with an online location.

The plan of study spreads 120 credits over eight semesters of 14 to 16 credits. The catalog says the emphasis prepares you for a career in sport coaching: safety and injury prevention, planning and judging performance, and running healthy environments for competition. Read that as the scope. You'll learn to coach and administer sport. You won't learn to test a cardiac patient.

Cost

How Much It Costs at $423 a Credit

For 2026-27, LC State charges $423 a credit plus course fees at 1 to 9 credits, and that rate is the same for every residency. At 10 or 11 credits it's a flat $4,113. At 12 to 19 credits Idaho residents pay $4,113 a semester, Asotin County residents pay $6,540, and non-residents pay $11,969. Past 19 credits you add $423 a credit.

Multiply 120 credits by $423 and you get $50,760, which is what every credit would cost at the part-time rate. Full-time semesters change that math. A resident on the eight-semester plan at the flat rate pays $32,904 before course fees, while a non-resident would pay $95,752. Ask the bursar which column an online student in your state falls into. The gap is $7,856 every semester.

Cost per Credit
$423 per credit
Credits Required
120 credits
Fees and Notes
Fall 2026/Spring 2027 undergraduate (official 2026-2027 schedule): $423/credit + course fees for 1-9 credits (same for all residencies); 10-11 credits and 12-19 credits are fixed per semester: Idaho residents $4,113 (12-19 cr), Asotin County $6,540, non-residents $11,969 (12-19 cr; 10-11 credits is $4,113 for all). Graduate is separate. No separate online rate or online fee is published.

Source: lcsc.edu (cost and aid), verified September 29, 2026

Fit

Who Should Apply, and Who Should Not

Who It Fits

  • Current coaches and assistants. KIN-340 Advanced Coaching Theory covers coaching philosophy, recruiting, and camp design, and it also earns the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Fundamentals of Coaching Certification. You also pick one Techniques of Coaching course, in basketball, baseball, track and field, football, volleyball, soccer, or tennis and golf.
  • Future athletic directors and program managers. Three required courses are about running things: KIN-486 covers budgeting, legal issues and personnel, KIN-487 is Sport Administration, and KIN-488 teaches facility construction, concessions, and box office management.
  • Idaho residents who can carry 12 or more credits a semester. The flat $4,113 rate covers 12 to 19 credits, so a 15-credit semester works out to about $274 a credit, and the plan of study never goes above 16.

Who Should Skip It

  • Anyone aiming at exercise physiologist work or a certification like the ACSM-EP or the CSCS. The plan has no exercise physiology, biomechanics, or exercise testing course, and nothing about it is programmatically accredited. Compare it against our online bachelor's in exercise science list first.
  • Future physical therapists and athletic trainers. The degree finder lists both as related careers, but they take a doctorate or a master's, and this emphasis leaves only 18 elective credits to squeeze in the prerequisite science.
  • Anyone who needs a guaranteed start date this year. Get the launch status in writing first.

Curriculum

What You Will Study

The required core mixes health and movement: HLTH-354 Addiction and Performance, KIN-220 Social-Cultural Aspects of Sports, KIN-271 Skill Analysis, KIN-272 Fitness and Wellness, KIN-370 Motor Learning/Motor Development, and KIN-425 Ethical Decision-Making for Sport Leaders.

The emphasis adds KIN-241 Sports Officiating, KIN-248 Sports Medicine, KIN-352 Youth Sports and Recreation, KIN-355 Strategies for Teaching Physical Activities, and KIN-412 Sport and Exercise Psychology, which needs PSYC-101 first.

Be realistic about the science. Sports Medicine, Fitness and Wellness, and Motor Learning are the nearest things to exercise science you must take. The general education science menu asks for two courses, one with a lab, and BIOL-227 Human Anatomy and Physiology I is on it. Pick that one.

Seniors take KIN-498 Senior Research Project I, which needs a statistics course and 90 credits first. You choose a topic, write a literature review, and design a study. KIN-499 finishes the sequence, alongside the six-credit KIN-494 internship.

Courses the School Names

  • KIN-271 Skill Analysis: Kinesiology
  • KIN-370 Motor Learning/Motor Development
  • KIN-248 Sports Medicine
  • KIN-340 Advanced Coaching Theory
  • KIN-412 Sport & Exercise Psychology
  • KIN-352 Youth Sports and Recreation
  • KIN-487 Sport Administration
  • KIN-494 Internship in Kinesiology

Standout Features

  • Only kinesiology emphasis listed with an Online location; coaching-focused with sport administration and facilities/event management courses
  • Choose one Techniques of Coaching course (basketball, baseball, track and field, football, volleyball, soccer or tennis/golf)
  • LC State's June 2026 Elevate adult-learner announcement says additional online degree options, including a new kinesiology program, 'are being developed'; the program finder already lists the Coaching emphasis with an Online location
Concentrations
Coaching emphasis (one of four Kinesiology emphases: Exercise Science and Health Occupations, Health and Fitness, Sport Studies, Coaching)
Capstone
KIN-498 Senior Research Project I and KIN-499 Senior Capstone (3 credits each)
Internship or Practicum
KIN-494 Internship in Kinesiology (variable 1-12 credits, 6 in this plan; instructor's permission required)

Source: lcsc.edu (curriculum and experience), verified September 29, 2026

Online

The Online Format

The degree finder lists the Coaching emphasis at 'Lewiston, Online.' But LC State's June 2026 news release on its Elevate adult-learner initiative says additional online degree options 'are being developed, including a new kinesiology program.' Ask which semester you can start and which courses run online today.

Several required classes sound hands-on. KIN-248 lists laboratory and classroom experience and a fee. KIN-355 includes participation and skill analysis in a variety of activities. KIN-269 and KIN-241 are skill and officiating courses. Ask how each one works from a distance. Semesters run 16 weeks, so there's less room to recover from a slow start.

Terms
Semester.
Time to Finish
48 months
Campus Requirements
6-credit internship in kinesiology (KIN-494) required; placement/site requirements not stated.

Source: lcsc.edu (format and schedule), verified September 29, 2026

Admissions

Admission Requirements

Admission Requirements
Not stated on program page.

Source: dailyfly.com (admissions and transfer), verified September 29, 2026

Credentials

Accreditation and Where It Leads

LC State is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, a regional accreditor. Nothing in the program is accredited by CAAHEP (the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs), and none of LC State's programs appear on the CAAHEP list we pulled on September 29, 2026.

The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) requires its exercise physiologist candidates to graduate from a CAAHEP-accredited program starting August 15, 2027.

The National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) sets a similar rule for its CSCS (Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist). From January 1, 2030, U.S. candidates need a bachelor's from a CASCE-accredited program. This one isn't. What you do get is the NFHS coaching certification inside KIN-340. Our CSCS guide has the details.

Where this degree can lead: Exercise Science Jobs.

Score

Where It Loses Points

Each factor is scored 0 to 10 against other online bachelor's programs. The weights are the same for every program.

  • Cost25% of score 7.3 / 10

    $423 per credit

  • Outcomes20% of score 1.7 / 10

    40% of students graduate (school-wide, IPEDS)

  • Online Flexibility20% of score 6 / 10

    Fully online, 16-week terms

  • Credential Alignment15% of score 3 / 10
  • Program Depth10% of score 7 / 10

    1 concentration, internship or practicum, 3 standout features

  • Track Record10% of score 1.8 / 10

    17 Bachelor's completions a year in this field (IPEDS)

Online Program Score 46.9 / 100

Darker bars mean stronger factor scores. Every bar also shows its number.

The full rubric is on the methodology page. A factor marked Peer Median had no published input, so it counts at half weight.

Trade-Offs

Drawbacks to Weigh

  • The college's own pages disagree on whether the online program exists yet. The finder lists it, and the June 2026 news release says it's being developed.
  • The science is thin. You get sports medicine, fitness, and motor learning, and no exercise physiology unless you fill your electives with it.
  • The bill depends on residency: the full-time flat rate is $4,113 for Idaho residents and $11,969 for non-residents.
  • LC State's federal graduation rate is 40 percent for the whole college, and it admits 88 percent of applicants.

Before You Apply

Questions to Ask Lewis-Clark State College Before You Apply

  • Is the online Kinesiology: Coaching program enrolling now, and what's the first semester I can start?
  • Can I finish all 120 credits online, including the KIN-248 lab, KIN-269, KIN-241, and KIN-355?
  • Which tuition column does an online student in my state pay, and how much are course fees per class?
  • How do I get a KIN-494 internship site approved from a distance, and how many hours does each credit require?
  • Can my 18 elective credits go to anatomy and physiology or exercise physiology, and are those sections online?
  • The program list calls KIN-499 Research Project/Seminar II, while the course catalog calls it Senior Capstone. What do I actually hand in?

School

About Lewis-Clark State College

Small public college in Lewiston, Idaho founded in 1893 with about 4,046 students and 20+ online programs. The Kinesiology and Exercise Science majors sit in the Math & Science division; the college pitches itself as the most affordable public four-year option in Idaho.

Degree
B.A./B.S., Bachelor's
School
Lewis-Clark State College, Lewiston, ID
Institution Type
Public
Institutional Accreditor
NWCCU
Delivery
Fully Online

Source: lcsc.edu (program and school), verified September 29, 2026

Graduation Rate
40%
Admit Rate
88%
Total Enrollment
3,801
Bachelor's Completions a Year in This Field
17
Campus Setting
City

Source: nces.ed.gov (school data from ipeds), verified September 29, 2026

Rankings

Rankings This Program Appears In

Rank is the program's position among the online programs on that list at its degree level.

Same School

Other Online Programs at Lewis-Clark State College

Also at Lewis-Clark State College, but not counted here because they are not fully online: Exercise Science (BA/BS) (bachelor's, on campus).

Compare

Online Bachelor's Programs With Similar Scores

Other online bachelor's programs with the closest scores.

  • Eastern Oregon University

    Bachelor of Science/Arts in Health & Human Performance, Exercise Science Concentration

    Oregon $338 per quarter credit Score 46.7

  • Bryan University

    Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science, Fitness, and Nutrition Management (Completion Degree)

    Arizona Score 46.6

  • Montreat College

    Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology (Online)

    North Carolina $445 per credit Score 47.5

  • Florida Atlantic University

    Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science and Health Promotion

    Florida $799.72 per credit Score 47.8

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Lewis-Clark State's Kinesiology: Coaching Degree Online?

How Much Does the Lewis-Clark State Kinesiology Bachelor's Cost?

Does This Degree Include an Internship?

Can You Become an Exercise Physiologist With This Degree?

Sources

All sources retrieved .

Sponsored

Exercise Science Bachelor’s Programs

Schools pay to appear in these listings. They are separate from our rankings, which no school can pay to change.