Verdict
Our Verdict on the M.S.
Grand Canyon's online M.S. in Exercise Physiology is built like a clinical exercise physiology degree. It has 34 credits, 8-week courses, ECG interpretation, cardiopulmonary rehab prescription and a 600-hour practicum, which matches the hours ACSM asks for on its master's route to the clinical credential.
But none of GCU's pages list CAAHEP accreditation, and ACSM requires it from August 15, 2027. Choose it only after admissions tells you where the accreditation process stands.
Grand Canyon University is a large Christian university in Phoenix, Arizona, and federal data lists it as private for-profit. Its College of Natural Sciences offers this master's fully online. The program page says you'll study exercise science, nutrition and therapeutic intervention, and it names hospitals, rehabilitation centers, fitness facilities and research institutions as places graduates work.
Admission needs a bachelor's from an accredited school with a GPA of 2.8 or higher. If your unweighted GPA is 2.5 or higher, you can qualify with a GMAT of 500 or a combined GRE of 300, so test scores only matter in that middle band. Faculty include Dr. Zachary Zeigler, a fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM).
Online
8-Week Terms and Start Dates
Courses run 8 weeks and are delivered online. The program page describes a community-driven environment where you engage with peers and faculty, and GCU says online learning offers the same quality as on-campus learning.
Online applies to the coursework. The 600 practicum hours happen in a real setting. If each practicum course runs the standard 8 weeks, 300 hours works out to 37.5 hours a week, which is close to a full-time job. Plan your work schedule and your site with an advisor before you enroll.
- Terms
- 8-week online courses.
- Campus Requirements
- Practicum/field experience of 600 hours required (site arrangement not stated on program page).
Source: gcu.edu (format and schedule), verified September 29, 2026
Fit
Who Should Apply, and Who Should Not
Who It Fits
- You work in rehab, a hospital or a wellness setting and need supervised clinical hours. The practicum is built into the curriculum through two courses, and our healthcare worker list shows other options.
- You want the clinical content, not just general exercise science. The coursework covers 12-lead ECG interpretation, exercise testing under ACSM's guidelines and cardiopulmonary rehabilitation.
- You're in the active-duty military, reserve, National Guard or a military spouse. GCU lists an effective rate of $400 per credit after scholarship.
- You want a Christian university. GCU states its Christian identity and mission on its site, and our Christian programs list shows the other options.
Who Should Skip It
- Skip it if you need certainty about the ACSM clinical exercise physiologist route after August 15, 2027. GCU's pages don't list CAAHEP accreditation, and the program didn't match the CAAHEP list we checked on September 29, 2026.
- Skip it if you can't commit to 600 practicum hours. They're required, and they're on top of your coursework.
- Skip it if price is your first filter. At $610 a credit, it's worth comparing with our cheapest online exercise science degrees first.
Curriculum
What You Will Study
The 34 credits are a 2-credit orientation plus eight 4-credit courses. UNV-507 Introduction to Graduate Studies in Science, Engineering and Technology is the orientation. EXS-520 Exercise Research Methods teaches you to critique studies, use statistical software and develop a research proposal. EXS-530 Clinical Exercise Physiology covers the disease processes you'd meet in a clinical setting.
EXS-540 Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physiology includes 12-lead ECG interpretation. EXS-610 Advanced Exercise Testing and Health Risk Appraisal uses ACSM's guidelines and is aimed at the clinical exercise physiologist role. EXS-620 Advanced Exercise Prescription Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation requires EXS-610. EXS-660 Theory of Behavior Change and Health Promotion covers the habits side.
EXS-690 and EXS-695, both titled Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience, carry 300 practicum hours each, and EXS-695 is the capstone. EXS-690's catalog description talks about a research thesis, which doesn't match the program page's research proposal, so ask what you'll hand in.
Courses the School Names
- Exercise Research Methods (EXS-520)
- Clinical Exercise Physiology (EXS-530)
- Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physiology (EXS-540)
- Advanced Exercise Testing and Health Risk Appraisal (EXS-610)
- Advanced Exercise Prescription Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation (EXS-620)
- Theory of Behavior Change and Health Promotion (EXS-660)
- Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience I (EXS-690)
- Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience II (EXS-695)
Standout Features
- Clinical exercise physiology emphasis: coursework includes 12-lead ECG interpretation, ACSM-guideline exercise testing and cardiopulmonary rehabilitation prescription, and prepares students 'for the role of clinical exercise physiologist'.
- 600-hour required practicum built into the curriculum via two Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience courses.
- Program faculty member Dr. Zachary Zeigler is an ACSM fellow; GCU describes itself as an 'exercise is medicine' campus.
- Capstone
- Students develop a research proposal in EXS-520 Exercise Research Methods. The EXS-690 Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience I course description mentions executing and presenting a research thesis alongside 300 practicum hours; no separate thesis option is stated.
- Internship or Practicum
- 600 practicum/field experience hours, delivered through EXS-690 Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience I and EXS-695 Clinician Exercise Physiology Experience II.
Source: gcu.edu (curriculum and experience), verified September 29, 2026
Cost
What It Costs, With the Military Rate
GCU's 2026-27 online graduate rate for programs outside education, business, nursing and a few others is $610 per credit. For 34 credits that's $20,740. Active-duty, active reserve, National Guard and military spouse students pay an effective $400 per credit after scholarship, which is $13,600.
Transfer credit is capped at 12 credits or one-third of the program, whichever is less. One-third of 34 credits is about 11, so plan on no more than that. GCU's fee page lists a $115 technology fee per semester and a $50 one-time registration deposit for new students without saying which apply to online master's students, so ask for the full amount.
34 credits at $610 a credit comes to $20,740 in tuition, before fees.
- Cost per Credit
- $610 per credit
- Credits Required
- 34 credits
- Estimated Tuition
- $20,740
- Military Rate
- $400 per credit
- Military Benefits
- Active duty, active reserve, National Guard and military spouses: effective rate of $400 per credit after scholarship (Online and Professional Studies graduate tuition, 2026-27).
- Fees and Notes
- Online master's tuition listed as $610 per credit on the program page. Fees not stated on the program page. Verified 2026-09-29 on gcu.edu/tuition/online-evening: 2026-27 graduate 'Online and Professional Studies (all other programs)' rate is $610 per credit; military/active-duty effective rate $400 per credit.
Source: gcu.edu (cost and aid), verified September 29, 2026
Admissions
Admission Requirements
- GRE
- Waived under conditions
- Admission Requirements
- Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution with 2.8+ GPA, OR 2.5+ unweighted GPA plus GMAT 500 or GRE 300 combined.
- Transfer Credits
- Up to 12 credits or 1/3 of the total program requirements (whichever is less)
Source: gcu.edu (admissions and transfer), verified September 29, 2026
Credentials
Accreditation and the Certification Rule Changes
GCU has been institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1968. The program itself lists no programmatic accreditation.
That matters because ACSM changes its rules on August 15, 2027. ACSM-EP and ACSM-CEP candidates must graduate from a CAAHEP-accredited Exercise Science or Exercise Physiology program, or one that has started the CAAHEP process. ACSM's master's route to the clinical credential (ACSM-CEP) asks for 600 hours of hands-on clinical experience, which GCU's practicum matches on paper. Whether ACSM accepts your hours depends on how they're documented.
Where this degree can lead: Exercise Physiologist Careers, ACSM Exercise Physiologist Certification.
Score
Where It Loses Points
Each factor is scored 0 to 10 against other online master's programs. The weights are the same for every program.
Online Program Score 45.6 / 100
Darker bars mean stronger factor scores. Every bar also shows its number.
The full rubric is on the methodology page. A factor marked Peer Median had no published input, so it counts at half weight.
Trade-Offs
Drawbacks to Weigh
- No programmatic accreditation is listed, even though the coursework says it prepares you for the role of clinical exercise physiologist, and ACSM's 2027 rule turns on CAAHEP.
- The practicum is heavy. Six hundred hours is a lot to fit around a full-time job.
- GCU's own pages disagree about the research work. The program page mentions a research proposal, and EXS-690's catalog description mentions a research thesis.
- GCU's federal graduation rate is 43 percent. It covers the whole university, but it's the only outcome number we have.
Before You Apply
Questions to Ask Grand Canyon University Before You Apply
- Has this program started the CAAHEP accreditation process, either through a formal inquiry or a Request for Accreditation Services?
- Will my 600 hours count as hands-on clinical experience for the ACSM-CEP, and how do you document them?
- Do I find my own practicum site, or does GCU place me and approve sites?
- What do I submit in EXS-690, a practicum log or a research thesis?
- Which fees apply to me, including the $115 technology fee per semester and the $50 registration deposit?
- How many transfer credits will you accept under the one-third cap, and can prior clinical work shorten the practicum?
- How many courses can I take at once, and how long does the degree take at that pace?
School
About Grand Canyon University
Grand Canyon University is a large Phoenix-based Christian university with a big online division. Its College of Natural Sciences runs campus-based B.S. Exercise Science emphases and a fully online M.S. in Exercise Physiology.
- Degree
- M.S., Master's
- School
- Grand Canyon University, Phoenix, AZ
- Institution Type
- Private for-profit
- Religious Affiliation
- Christian
- Institutional Accreditor
- HLC
- Delivery
- Fully Online
Source: gcu.edu (program and school), verified September 29, 2026
- Graduation Rate
- 43%
- Admit Rate
- 79%
- Total Enrollment
- 113,257
- Campus Setting
- City
Source: nces.ed.gov (school data from ipeds), verified September 29, 2026
Rankings
Rankings This Program Appears In
Rank is the program's position among the online programs on that list at its degree level.
- Best Online Exercise Science Degrees Rank 74 of 99, master's
- Best Online Master's Programs Rank 74 of 99, master's
- Best Online Exercise Physiology Degrees Rank 12 of 19, master's
- Accelerated Online Programs Rank 45 of 46, master's
- No-GRE Online Master's Programs Rank 32 of 44, master's
- Best for Military Students Rank 18 of 35, master's
- Best for Working Adults Rank 42 of 50, master's
- Best for Healthcare Workers Rank 13 of 20, master's
- Best Christian Programs Rank 25 of 27, master's
- Best 100% Online Programs Rank 60 of 78, master's
- Best Online Programs in Arizona Rank 1 of 1, master's
Compare
Online Master's Programs With Similar Scores
Other online master's programs with the closest scores.
-
University of Southern Mississippi
Kinesiology (Exercise Science), M.S.
-
Master of Science in Kinesiology
-
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus
Master of Science in Kinesiology - Coaching
-
Master of Athletic Training (M.A.T.)
Frequently Asked Questions
How Much Does Grand Canyon University's Online Exercise Physiology Master's Cost?
Is Grand Canyon University's Master's in Exercise Physiology CAAHEP Accredited?
How Many Practicum Hours Does GCU's Exercise Physiology Master's Require?
Do You Need the GRE for Grand Canyon University's Exercise Physiology Master's?
Sources
- Grand Canyon University's Master of Science in Exercise Physiology page
- Tuition, credits, format
- Credits
- Practicum
- Transfer
- Admission
- Accreditation
- Credit total and course length. One 2-credit course (UNV-507) + 8 courses x 4 credits = 34 credits. If a 300-hour practicum course runs 8 weeks, 300 / 8 = 37.5 hours a week.
- Admission thresholds: 2.8 GPA, or 2.5 unweighted GPA with GMAT 500 or GRE 300 combined.
- Practicum: EXS-690 has 300 practicum hours and EXS-695 has 300, so 300 + 300 = 600 hours.
- EXS-690's catalog description conflicts with the program page's research proposal wording.
- EXS-610 is aimed at the clinical exercise physiologist role and uses ACSM's testing guidelines.
- Transfer cap. One-third of 34 credits is about 11.3, which is less than 12, so the practical cap is about 11 credits.
- Institutional accreditation.
- 2026-27 graduate tuition for the all-other-programs row is $610 per credit, and the military effective rate after scholarship is $400. 34 x $610 = $20,740. 34 x $400 = $13,600.
- GCU's other-fees page lists a Technology Fee of $115 per semester and a Registration Deposit of $50 one-time for new students, without saying which programs pay them.
- ACSM-CEP master's route requires 600 hours of hands-on clinical experience.
- ACSM-EP and ACSM-CEP CAAHEP rule effective August 15, 2027, including programs that have initiated accreditation.
- IPEDS Data Center
All sources retrieved .